Interview with Raine Miller – we talk Ethan Blackstone, David Gandy and so much more…………………….

Totallybookedblog meets Raine Miller

J&G:       Welcome to Totallybooked Raine, and thank you for taking time out of your busy writing schedule to talk to us
RM:        It is my great pleasure.  I love to come on blogs and chat.

TB:          Okay, we’ve got to get this out the way. Is there a real Ethan Blackstone and can we have his number (J&Gjust kidding…sort of). Now we know Ethan was inspired by the luscious David Gandy, silly question but what is it about him that made Ethan come alive?

RM:       Ha ha.  Boy, that is a question isn’t it.  If Mr. Gandy could bottle and sell whatever that special something he has going on, the world would be bursting with off the charts sexy men!  (J&G:  if only!! We’d buy a gallon drum!)  I don’t know.  David Gandy is unique.  The world’s only male supermodel.  He is it.  (J&G: Yes, yes he really is!)   He is beyond gorgeous of course, but he is also very intelligent.  You can tell by his writing on his blogs.  Very articulate and benevolent.  I like smart, educated heroes in my books.  When I imagined Ethan in my head, he just had that wavy hair, blue eyes and that goatee…and those muscles…and that v-cut!  *looks at watch*  How much time do we have here?  (J&G:  ummm if we’re talking David Gandy and Ethan?  All the time in the world!)

TB:          In case you haven’t noticed we’re a lot in love with Ethan and can’t wait to hear his voice in “All In”.    What can we expect from Ethan? Care you share any tidbits with us here?

RM:        Ethan is very complicated and his experiences in Afghanistan have shaped him forever.  He has a loving family, his dad, who he admires, and respects, and an older sister (Hannah) who is happily married with three children.  He also has a cousin who is like a brother to him.  That would be Ivan, who you will meet in All In.

Ethan had an experience in the war that changed his outlook about himself.  He considered himself an unlucky person until one event happened.  His luck changed for the better and he went off and became an ace poker player and won his fortune.  This is the reason for the title of the book (a poker term) and how he goes about winning those prizes he values in his life.  The biggest being Brynne of course.

TB:           Brynne is quite the heroine.  We loved her.  What else can you dish out about her and was she inspired by someone?

Not really.  I just wanted a lovely girl, who was not super gorgeous but had that certain something that men find attractive.  The whole book was inspired by a stock photograph I found on Shutterstock one afternoon while I was looking for something else.  I fell in love with the image and just got an idea for the story.  What would it be like to be a model, and meet the man who bought your nude portrait?  What would he think of you?  What would you think of him?

Because Brynne has had a traumatic experience in her past, (J&G:  this part of “All In” broke our hearts) the nude modelling is a sort of therapy for her.  Ethan doesn’t like that she models…well let me rephrase:  He doesn’t like that other people see the photos of her naked.  He absolutely loathes this part of his girl’s life…and guess what?  He will have to deal.  *laughs*  Part of real life is that we don’t get everything we want.

TB:          We loved the setting of the book, in London in the lead up to the Olympics.  Was there particular reason for setting the book there?

RM:      Only that the Olympics were getting ready to start when I was writing the book.  I got the idea when I saw all the celebrities there and realized that somebody had to organize all that security.  So I created Ethan Blackstone for the job.  So there is this guy, with the job of his career, taking all his time, and now he has this girl to look after and can’t walk away from her.  I also loved the idea of an American transplant living in London and falling for a British man.  And the city itself is something very special.  I’ve been to London several times and it never fails to captivate me.  I’ll be there in June 2013 and cannot wait to see it again.

TB:       What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?

RM:        That I can figure out a plot device when I am utterly stumped.  Somehow, some way, it does come to me eventually and I never know quite when inspiration will strike.  Like the stock photo for the cover of Naked.  I never in my wildest dreams imagined that little book would be so popular.  THAT was the most surprising thing by far.

TB:          Which comes first? The character’s story or the idea for the novel?

RM:        For me it can be either.  For The Blackstone Affair it was definitely the idea for the novel.  For my very first published story, His Perfect Passion, it was definitely the story of Darius Rourke and his love for Marianne.

TB:          What are you working on now and what can readers look forward to in the future from you? 

RM:      Why I am working on Blackstone Affair Part 3.  There will be a very big turn of events in that book.  Be warned. (J&G:  Oh god, we’re scared, but excited!)

TB:           What do you surround yourself with in your work area in order to help your concentrate?

RM:        My art and my iTunes…and something to drink– be it hot tea or a vanilla cappuccino.  Oh, and my glasses.  Nothing gets written without them.  I have literally like 10 pairs of them all over the house, and I only use them for reading or writing.

TB:          Do you read reviews of your books? If so, do you pay any attention to them, or let them influence your writing?

RM:       Sometimes I wish I did not, but yes, I do read them.  I have learned that it be in this business you have to get a thick skin and get it FAST.  Those first few scathing reviews are brutal but you learn that it’s just someone’s opinion and not to take it personal.  Not everyone will like to read my books or think they are good.  For me the fans that write to me and tell me that one of my stories has touched them makes up for all that other stuff.

As for influencing my writing?  Definitely NO.  In my opinion when a writer lets their voice be dictated by fans they have just doomed themselves.  It has to be my vision…always.
TB:          If you could work with any author who would it be?

RM:         JR Ward.  I would love to just pick that woman’s brain for about a day and a half.  She can write duality better than anyone I’ve ever known.  Very gifted.
TB:          If you could have dinner with one person living or dead, who would it be and what would you eat?

RM:       That’s easy.  My muse for Ethan Blackstone.  And he’s very much alive.  And I don’t care about the food!  (J&GWe’re with you there – food, what food?)

 

Thank you Raine Miller

Check out our review for Naked and All In (The Blackstone Affair #1 and #2) by Raine Miller

Review by Jenny & Gitte, Naked (The Blackstone Affair #1) 

Reviewed by Jenny & Gitte All In (The Blackstone Affair #2) 

 

And…………………………………………..

A little bit of Gandy Candy for your enjoyment!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1 Comment

Filed under Interviews, Pick an Author, Raine Miller

One response to “Interview with Raine Miller – we talk Ethan Blackstone, David Gandy and so much more…………………….

  1. Great interview! Loved it! (And I loved the first 2 books, now I’m scared for #3)

Leave a Reply

