Totallybooked chats to………………………………………….. R L Mathewson

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We are chuffed to bits to have the fabulous Author R.L. Mathewson here on our blog today to coincide with the surprise early release of her novel Checkmate, the third book in her ‘A Neighbour from Hell’ series. This one is about Connor and Rory. We have read this one and loved it, it had us in stitches and in tears; watch out for our review later this week. This Author is like a breath of fresh air as is her series ‘A Neighbour from Hell’. Enjoy!

Checkmate Synopsis:

There’s nothing worse than living next door to your childhood nemesis, except maybe being forced to share your dream project with him, being blackmailed into going along with something that was just wrong on so many levels, and having your hot cocoa stolen by the person that drove you to drink it in the first place.

As long as she has plenty of hot cocoa, a pair of pliers on hand and is able to resist Connor O’Neil’s bad boy charm then Rory James should be able to make it through this project with her sanity intact. If not…..

She’d probably face a few more nights in jail, have a few more restraining orders slapped against her and lose her heart to the man that ruined her life.

 

TB: Welcome R.L. tell us something we don’t know about you…

RLM    I’m addicted to hot cocoa, baked goods, Luke Bryan and I have an overdue library book.

TB:   What inspired you to write your first book?

RLM   My children.

The situation that we were in was horrible and I was desperate for a way to escape. At the time finding work outside of the house was impossible. I’d tried my hand at website design, looked into going back to school, looked into starting several online companies, but nothing worked. Writing was a long shot, something that I’d always wanted to do. I honestly never thought that I would manage to write something that someone would want to read. Putting everything that I had into writing and hoping that it would work for us was a long shot, but one that I thank God every day that I took.

TB: Do your books or characters resemble someone you know, have met, or events in your own life?

RLM.  No, not really. I wish that I knew a real Bradford, because that would just be awesome. My kids do influence some of the children in my books. I won’t say which ones, but let’s just say that my kids keep me very entertained.

TB: What books have most influenced your life?

RLM:   G.A. Aiken, Gena Showalter, Kresley Cole, basically any authors who add a bit of humor to their books. They entertain me, help me relax and give me something to smile about.

TB: What book are you reading now?

RLM:  About to reread Lothaire by Kresley Cole. I’ve read it about a dozen times now, but I love it. It’s the perfect combination of humor, drama, love, and Lothaire is the ultimate bad boy.

TB: Who is your favourite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?

RLM:  G.A. Aike/Shelly Laurenston. She writes with humor, a lot of it and isn’t afraid to make her characters less than perfect, annoying and basically real.

TB: Do you ever read your readers reviews?

RLM:  Every now and then. It really depends. I like hearing what someone likes about the book and if there’s something that didn’t quite work in the book I definitely like to know that as well.

TB: While writing, do you need extra stimulants to get those creative juices flowing? If yes, what are they?

RLM:  Hot Cocoa.

TB: Are the names of the characters in your novels important?

RLM:  Nope, not at all.

TB: Have you got a special writing outfit or accessory you must wear when you write?  A cape? Wonder woman outfit?

RLM:  New York Yankees baseball cap, worn backwards. I’m onto my second cap now. The first one had an unfortunate accident when I leant it to my son to wear to school. His teachers shoved it into his backpack and threw an open, full container of juice on top of it. Since I live knee deep in Red Sox country I’m thinking that it was no accident………..

TB: Which character of yours is your favourite and why?

RLM:  I really don’t have a favorite. They all have special meaning to me. I know it sounds crazy, but I spend so much time watching them develop that it really is hard to pick a favorite.

TB: Do you ever assign actors/actresses to your characters in the event a movie was made out of your book?

RLM:  Lol, no, not really. I don’t watch television or movies. I know, weird, but I’m a workaholic and when I’m not writing I’m hanging with my two buddies.

TB: Where did the inspiration for the Neighbours from Hell series come from?

There really wasn’t any inspiration. It was more of a thought, a curiosity that started that series.

TB: Which of your characters would you most/least to invite to dinner, and why?

RLM:  All of them, but I’d have to win the lottery to afford dinner with a Bradford.

TB:  We have to say we would LOVE to go to a buffet with the Bradfords…imagine the hilarity!!! Oh and of course we’d like a Bradford for dinner ourselves too *wink wink*…just saying!!

TB:  Thank you to R.L Mathewson for stopping by!

4 Comments

Filed under Interviews, Pick an Author, R.L Mathewson

4 responses to “Totallybooked chats to………………………………………….. R L Mathewson

  1. Gail D

    I really am looking forward to reading this next book. I loved the first two!!

  2. I loved the first book and will read the second soon…can’t wait for the third! Thank you

  3. freebets

    Pretty! This was a really wonderful post. Thank you for your provided information. cool desktop

Leave a Reply

