Talented author and musician/songwriter Brooklyn James visits Totallybooked….psssst: there’s also a Giveaway!

Today we have the pleasure of welcoming Brooklyn James to our blog.

Brooklyn is the Author of the fabulous ‘The Boots My Mother Gave Me’ which we loved here at TB!! Today sees the televised debut of her OFFICIAL music video for ‘Can’t Get It Right,’ the title track off the original music soundtrack to this novel.  This lady is not only a fab Author she is also an extremely talented musician/song writer!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dRQ8MKk-H6I

“Brooklyn James’ soundtrack to her novel The Boots My Mother Gave Me does more than give a clever feminist twist to the title. Her songs serve as chapters themselves, underlining James’ deft ability as a storyteller and songwriter.” Margaret Moser, The Austin Chronicle

 

 TB:                  Welcome to our blog Brooklyn, it is great to have you here today to talk to us, share your news and showing us your video! Can you tell us how this soundtrack came about?

Brooklyn:   Thank you TotallyBooked for hosting me today! Hope your viewers enjoy the video and the review. When I was drafting the manuscript for The Boots My Mother Gave Me, I didn’t intend for it to have a music soundtrack. As a singer/songwriter in the Austin indie music scene, I was in studio with production of my first full-length album at the same time I was writing in the manuscript. Both projects stemming from the same vein of consciousness, I started to notice chapter titles from the book sharing song titles from the album. It was then, I thought, ‘A movie has a soundtrack, why not a book?’ And that is what the soundtrack to this novel provides, an emotional undertone, setting the scene of the corresponding chapters.

 TB:               How did the idea of this book come about?

Brooklyn: Essentially, the book was a New Year’s resolution to myself to get rid of some excess baggage I had carried around since childhood. After passing the manuscript off to a friend, she convinced me to send it out to editors and publishers. Larger publishing houses passed on the concept. However, I found an editor who was interested in working with me to self-publish. Six-months after the book was published, it won the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award as a Quarter Finalist. I thought, ‘Maybe I really can write!’

TB:                 This song is amazing, what is the story behind it?

Brooklyn:   As an independent artist, sometimes it’s difficult to believe in yourself, to believe your work is as legitimate as the mainstream. The song, ‘Can’t Get It Right,’ featured in the video, is track #4 off the original music soundtrack to the novel The Boots My Mother Gave Me. I wrote this song out of frustration, wondering if I ever would get it right. I had just finished my Master’s in Communication when the impetus hit. I was sitting on the front steps of my apartment, contemplating on how much time, energy and money I had spent on securing Plan A…an education and a ‘real’ job with a 401K and an insurance plan, while my heart was still attached to Plan B…writing songs and stories. I shook my head, saying, ‘I just can’t get it right.’ And the light bulb went off. I grabbed up a napkin and started writing the lyrics to the song.

This music video, as well as the book and soundtrack have been a long time coming. ‘Can’t Get It Right’ was just named to Austin’s MEOW (Musicians for Equal Opportunity for Women) Magazine’s Top 2012 Discoveries Playlist, including me into their Top 15 female singer/songwriters on the rise. Although the consummate screw-up song (I think we’ve all felt that way at one time or another), there is a refreshing hook in ‘Can’t Get It Right,’ paying homage to the notion that if we follow our instinct and believe in ourselves that maybe we will get it right eventually.

Here’s to New Year’s resolutions and holding onto our dreams! Oh boy, we’re only a few months away from 2013…what to do for a resolution? I take my resolutions pretty seriously…lol 🙂

TB:        Yeah don’t remind us hahaha…In all seriousness congratulations Brooklyn on the success of the novel and the release of your album. Goes to show that through perseverance, hard work and following your dreams, you CAN make it happen!

Giveaway:

  Brooklyn is very kindly giving us a signed album and an e-book to give away to one lucky reader on our blog.  In order to enter this competition, we’d like you to comment/share on the blog your favourite indie female artist/musician. Especially the lesser well known one’s as discovering a new artist feels very much as exciting as discovering a new Author. This way you can spread the news about some unheard of female singer/songwriters.  We’d love to hear from you as would Brooklyn!

Good Luck!

For our review of ‘The Boots My Mother Gave Me’ go to: 

http://totallybookedblog.com/2012/08/17/the-boots-my-mother-gave-me-by-brooklyn-james/

12 Comments

Filed under Audio, Brooklyn James, Giveaways!, Interesting, Pick an Author

12 responses to “Talented author and musician/songwriter Brooklyn James visits Totallybooked….psssst: there’s also a Giveaway!

  1. Allie Mathews

    Great review and that’s so nice of her to do this giveaway and for you to host! I really like Daniellia Cotton. She’s such a powerhouse. So much soul. Love her!

  2. Very cool, Allie! She is a powerhouse 🙂 Will be adding Danielia to my list. Thanks for stopping by and commenting! Good day to you.

  3. The New Limb has a good sound! This is one of my favorite books to read. Awesome giveaway and review!

  4. I am a huge fan of Jess Moskaluke. She just has such a beautiful voice.

    Thanks for the giveaway 🙂

  5. danielle james

    Thank you first for a chance at this great giveaway! You should seriously check out Tori Kelly. She is Awesome!

  6. Jessica C.

    Bethany Joy Lenz/Galeotti has made some beautiful music solo. For a very short time, she sang in an indie girl duo named Everly. I’ve always really loved her voice.

Leave a Reply

