White Trash Beautiful by Teresa Mummert

3.0 Stars

I really wanted to love this book, I truly did and it upsets me to say I didn’t.

Could I put it down? No, but then again I do have weird tick whereby I have to finish a book.  Did it wow me at the end? No.

Cass lives a depressing life in a trailer park – there’s no denying her life is depressing.  She lives in a trailer with her drug addict mother and abusive drug addicted boyfriend.

One day Tucker White a lead singer in a very popular band walks in and falls head over heels in love with her and tries to show her another life to the one she is currently leading.

And herein lies my problem with this book. It could have been so good but for me it just felt too unbelievable and fell a little short.

Firstly I didn’t really connect with the characters the way I should have. I did connect on a very small scale with Cass though not enough to feel any real emotion for her when I know that I should have.

I didn’t understand Tuckers instant infatuation with Cass, his not being able to live without her and eventual love for her.  It just didn’t make sense to me why he kept pursuing her. I waited and waited for that moment when I thought “wow, I get it , I really get the connection between these two” – but  it never came.

Tucker was a mystery and because of this it felt that I didn’t get to know him enough. You don’t really find out about him for quite a fair chunk of  the book and for this reason I just felt the depth of character for him just didn’t evolve and therefore  I didn’t feel any emotional connection to the story.  If I couldn’t feel attached to Tucker and Cass then this wasn’t going to happen for me unfortunately.

Tuckers reactions throughout the book seemed unbelievable and I felt I was really missing something.

The mother was another oddity for me.  She lived in the trailer with Jackson and Cass yet there minimal dialogue and interaction between her and Cass then the mother has a complete change of personality and there is one point I should have been devastated and yet I wasn’t.

Maybe it was me. I’m not sure.  I do believe sometimes a mood can affect how we perceive a book and maybe that happened here.

I can only say that this was one book I was really looking forward to but I’m sorry to say it fell short for me.

Reviewed by Jenny

9 Comments

Filed under Our Reviewers, Pick an Author, Reviews by Jenny, Teresa Mummert

9 responses to “White Trash Beautiful by Teresa Mummert

  1. Couldn’t agree with you more. I was dissapointed too and felt that lack of attachment to the characters .

    • Thank you Christina. Gitte and I made a decision when we started the blog that we would only write reviews for books 3.5 stars and over and not include negative reviews but we feel that is an injustice to our subscribers because as readers we like to read the good and the not so good comments about a book. At the end of the day these are our opinions and people should purchase the book and make up their own mind
      Thank you for the feedback. So glad I wasn’t the only one
      Jen 🙂

  2. Stephanie

    I couldnt agree more with you. I couldnt put the book down, and yet felt I was missing some key elements. I think because the story line was interesting, I wanted to know how it ended. The last few chapters felt rushed, and I couldnt connect with the main characters like I wanted to. I agree that Tucker had this immediate desire for Cass with out much of a reason explained. Sometimes I can over look that in a book if the relationship between hero and heroin become solid, but that wasnt the case. I think 3 stars is a perfect rating for this book also.

    • Hi Stephanie,
      So glad you agree and thank you so much for your feedback, we really do appreciate it.
      Nothing upsets us more than when we don’t love a book – it’s like a little part of us dies lol but you know what we mean. 😉

  3. Liked the book …but there needs to be more… 🙂

  4. Tracy

    Agreed 100%, the story was unbelievable. I read the whole book waiting for the reason behind Tucker’s immediate love.

  5. bookmakers offers

    I truly enjoy reading on this website, it holds amazing articles .

Leave a Reply

