If I Were You (Inside Out Trilogy #1) by Lisa Renee Jones

5 Stars

Right, so this book is being described as Fifty Shades meets Basic Instinct. Well, I didn’t get that at all. Yes there were issues that were of similar nature to Fifty Shades, if anything, at times there were a few similarities to Bared to You. However, in no way did I read this story and think hang on, this is a rip off. These issues of similarities were few and far between and not enough to compare. Perhaps the Basic Instinct comparison becomes apparent in book 2 or 3?

The story was quite unique and had more than one story line running through it. It actually had just about everything you would want in a great book. It had drama, heart break, yummy sexy romance, mystery and tormented characters. It was dark and thrilling and I couldn’t put it down, the mystery of it making me want to know more; yeah, I loved it!!! I think this series will be a winner!! If you; like me, enjoy books with passion, dark alpha males and intense intrigue you will love this story!

As with all series, the first book can act as the ultimate teaser, this one is no exception. It had me consumed with its intensity, passion and depth. I was sold right from the start and eagerly await book two as yes there’s a cliff hanger but then again all the great series have one of these right?!

If I Were You has two very sexy domineering alpha males, I was drawn to both of them but have a clear favourite (at the moment). One we got to know a little bit, one not so much, he is still a mystery that I cannot wait to uncover (yes I really said that ;0)

This story is written in Sara’s POV.  Now, I found Sara to be quite intense, perhaps it was the inner dialogue which made me feel like I was in her head a lot of the time. A very emotional place to be for sure. Sara came across very lost and lonely, she has been damaged in her past, unable to find that happy place in her life, so instead she gets sucked into someone else’s. Almost like an avoidance ploy. Trying to solve someone else’s wretched existence in order to avoid the one she herself leads. Sara has her own fears, heart-break and emotional issues buried so deep; shaping her existence.

The beginning of this journey finds Sara, who is a school teacher, coming across the diary of a girl named Rebecca. The content intrigues as well as shocks her in many ways and she grows concerned for the safety of this girl. The diary contains intense descriptions of her alluring yet destructive affair with a dominant and controlling man who is as yet unnamed. Sara decides to investigate the life of Rebecca in order to return the diary to her.  Add to that the lure of an Art Gallery where Rebecca works which houses the true love of Sara’s life; Art. Ultimately Sara becomes a “watcher” of Rebecca’s life. This is where she meets Mark, the owner of the Art Gallery and Chris who is one of the famous Artists housed in this gallery.

So, we have Mark who is handsome in that stern ruthless way; arrogant and cocky, completely controlling and intense. Overall very enigmatic and sexy in a really intimidating way! Could he be the unnamed man?

Then we have Chris who is a very talented and wealthy artist whom Sara has admired for years, and is instantly attracted to. Chris is also extremely cocky and arrogant and clearly likes control yet he is also very sweet, kind and intensely protective of Sara from the get go, despite proclaiming he has a dark side. Could he also be the unnamed man?!

The relationships between these three characters take over the story. Mark and Chris are intrinsically linked and it seems there is no love lost between them. Chris and Sara embark on an emotionally charged affair that begins to dominate the storyline pushing the plight of Rebecca into the background.

There are so many questions left unanswered in this book, which is ultimately why it is so brilliant. Rebecca, her disappearance and the unnamed man being the underlying theme. Who is he and what happened to Rebecca?

I can highly recommend this book and cannot wait for the next instalment!

Reviewed by Gitte

*Thank you to Netgalley and Lisa Renee Jones for sending this ARC for an honest unbiased opinion*

 

17 Comments

Filed under Lisa Renee Jones, Pick an Author, Reviews by Gitte

17 responses to “If I Were You (Inside Out Trilogy #1) by Lisa Renee Jones

  1. alina

    Thank you Gitte 🙂 I’ll make sure to check it out. Your guys’ reviews are always so awesome.

  2. I just got this one. Looking forward to reading it!

  3. Stephanie

    I can NEVER have enough dark alpha male!

  4. LindsayBrady

    Do you have any idea when the other books in this series will be released?

  5. Bobbie

    Twitter says February for Book #2. Such a great book, so well written and totally sucks you in from the first chapter. I want more!

  6. I must agree with Stephanie, lol, I can never get enough dark twisted alpha male….im looking for him in the flesh! LOL

  7. I took your word for it Gitte & bought the book. I couldn’t put it down & called in sick to finish it. Now I have to wait till February to see what is going on? Ugh! I wish she would slip us an excerpt. 🙂

  8. Andi

    Argh!!! This book was absolutely fantastic!! The cliffhanger made me scream, but only because I wasn’t ready for this book to be over. I can’t wait to see where this goes!! Thank you so much for the review 🙂

  9. Misty Carlton

    Omg!!!! Just finished and I can’t believe this ending!!! I couldn’t breath and I kept trying to turn the pages. Can’t wait till Feb. I Want to know what’s going to happen! Great read.

  10. This was an amazing book. My only gripe is I read it right when it came out, and now I have to wait for the other books!!! It’s always best to wait until an entire series is out before jumping in, in my opinion 😀

Leave a Reply

