Sheltered – by Charlotte Stein

Evie leads a very sheltered life. She lives under the abusive and conservative ruling hand of her father. One afternoon Evie sees Van in the next door garden buying pot. Van is a “bad boy” – a punk as she calls him, with all his tattoos and piercings, but Evie finds him fascinating and they begin a tentative relationship.

I have to say that yes I loved the premise of the story, it was raw and beautiful and I LOVED Van!! I also wanted more….

However, I did not get on with the writing style. The inner monologue dragged and lost me at times. I also found that Evie’s internal dialogue did not match her supposed innocence, total contradiction!

Ultimately this is a beautiful love story and about setting Evie free!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Charlotte Stein, Pick an Author

Leave a Reply

