How to Kill a Rock Star – by Tiffanie DeBartolo

I finally got to read the story I’ve been waiting to read in months. And can I just say there are not enough stars to truly rate this book.

The story is about how Eliza an aspiring music journalist moves to NY to join her brother and his girlfriend. She flat-shares with Paul the lead singer in her brothers band. They fall in love and the story continues with a mass of complications and discoveries…..I’m not going to spoil this story by saying anything else.

I leisurely read it appreciating the amazingly written lines whilst slowly falling in love with the characters, I wasn’t on the edge, there was laughs, because of very funny dialogue and mild frustrations; angry and sad.

Then almost half-way through this book I became an emotional woman possessed and frantically read through the night whilst CRYING like a crazy woman! Now you may not consider this to be such a good thing but for me that means this author has totally touched my heart and written a story so REAL that I am emotionally tied to this book. Oh I did try and take breaks but a few minutes into these breaks and I was back in the story because it didn’t leave me.

Some of the lines floored me:

“There’s a big difference between being alone and being lonely. And I’m guessing that once you’ve discovered this distinction you can’t go back to solitary confinement without serious emotional repercussions.”

“I wanted to freeze the moment. Freeze it and jump inside of it and stay there until it melted into the warm, swishy liquid of happy memories.”

“Fate is just another word for people’s choices coming to a head. Destiny, coincidence, whatever you name it. It inevitably lies in our hands.”

“‘Eliza, are you crying?’ ‘It’s just that, well, sometimes Happiness hurts.’ ”

I can’t recommend this book enough.

This story will stay with me, just like Paul talking to his tape recorder about Eliza!!!

(But it’ll be a long while before I re-read it though…need to get rid of my red puffy eye syndrome first that’s for sure ;0))

2 Comments

Filed under Pick an Author, Tiffanie DeBartolo

2 responses to “How to Kill a Rock Star – by Tiffanie DeBartolo

  1. Hillary

    I just finished this book last night. I agree, not enough stars! I LOVED every bit of it! I cried too! I just can’t say enough about it!!!!

  2. Brenna

    Love love love this book!

Leave a Reply

