First Bitten (The Alexandra Jones series) – by Samantha Towle

I have read alot of paranormal romance by various authors, I love it!!! However, it’s one og those genre’s where you can often find that one book bleeds into another and the element of surprise and that “something new” is lacking. Well all I have to say to that is if you agree you should read First Bitten (book one of a series).

This is my first Samantha Towle book and I LOVED it, she had me hooked right from the start. It’s one of those books that you wish you had the time to sit and read in one go because you need to know!! I was a bit worried at first with it being set in the UK because it could so easily have gone the other way for me, I knew I’d be more critical but this author’s writing immediately got rid of those worries because for want of a better word her writing is effortless and it could be set anywhere, it’s that good.

First Bitten is a contemporary paranormal romance which is so refreshing because it’s real, believable, and we live in this world (and yeah I mean with the shifters, vampires and werewolves – somewhere there’s an alarm going off and a straight jacket is being prepared for me right now lol..)!! All the characters in this book are human in the sense that they have compassion, they love, they hurt, they are not perfect and they FEEL. Because they are “so real” the emotions felt by the characters mirror the ones felt by the reader..and yes I felt every emotion, I cried, laughed, got mad and… *sigh*…swooned!!

I don’t want to spoil too much…..

This journey begins when Alex and her friend Carrie are walking home slightly worse for wear from a night out. Alex has a phone call from her cheating ex Eddie and throws her phone away in anger. Whilst the girls are looking for the phone Alex is bitten by a Varcolac (which we later find out is a vampire-werewolf hybrid) and Carrie…. 😦 !!!

So this is where we meet Nathan (*sigh*… gorgeous, alpha hot but frustrating and closed off…just how I like them..lol!!!!) who finds her, brings her home to his shifter family and nurses her back to health and offers her his and his father Jack and brother Sol’s protection.

A female bitten by a Varcolac does not normally survive so Alex becomes a valuable commodity for the strength and the survival of that race so Nathan’s family know they must keep her hidden while they prepare her for her “new life”. Alex has to very quickly come to terms with what has happened and grieve the loss of her life as she knew it.

There are so many twists and turns it will literally keep you on the edge of your seat but it’s not so fast paced for a first book that you don’t know what is going on and feel confused!

The sexual tension between Nathan and Alex is HOT and the chapter from Nathan’s pov was fab. I love when I get to hear the voice of not just our heroine but our hero too!! I hope there is more of that in book 2 because Nathan is still a bit of a mystery, granted a hot mystery, but he doesn’t give too much away and I want to fix him!!

I have to say though..the ending, the cliffhanger WHY???!!! I am no good with them..in fact I think I hate them….I NEED book 2 like right now!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Pick an Author, Samantha Towle

Leave a Reply

