Captive In the Dark – by CJ Roberts

I nearly didn’t read this book.  It was recommended to me by Tina Reber, and because she has never led me astray in her book choices, I decided to take the plunge and read it.

This was indeed a hard read, but I found I just couldn’t put it down.  I wasn’t able to focus on anything except getting to the end of this book.

I admit to having formed a pre conceived opinion of Caleb, and decided that I would dislike him immensely.

However I have to say I didn’t.

Yes, he was totally messed up and I don’t know what it says about me but I felt so much empathy for him after what he’d been through in his past.

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think for one minute that you can impart your past pain onto anyone else, in fact just the opposite – I think that you should learn from your past and never want anyone to suffer the same pain you did.

That said, I felt so much for Caleb and his conflicting emotions, and while his past didn’t excuse his actions, I could, in some way understand his reasoning for doing what he did, even though I didn’t agree with it.

Livvie…Oh my heart ached for Livvie. She was so beautiful and her suffering just tore at my heart.

I rallied for her and I felt for her in the feelings she had for Caleb.

CJ Roberts, you did an amazing job with this book.

I can’t stop thinking about it, and trust me, this book will stay with me for days, I can’t wait for the sequel.  Is it really a year we have to wait??

Leave a comment

Filed under C.J Roberts, Pick an Author

Leave a Reply

